SNA to IW/Intel

SNA to IW/Intel

Postby jpsno3 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:34 pm

I am currently an SNA in Primary flight training. Training has been going well so far, however, I am not sure if it is the right fit for me. I am beginning to research into other possible communities in case I do decide to re-designate. I am most interested in IW and Intelligence. Even as a pilot, I would want my mission to revolve around some type of intelligence gathering.

My educational background consists mainly of math, science, and some basic civil and environmental engineering. I have a BS is Marine Science. However, I have read that in order to be competitive they like to see applicants with a background in computer science, political science, international relations, or foreign language. Do you think because I am already in the Navy, that I may have a higher chance of being selected for either community even though I do not have much background in these areas? I know the new fiscal year is fast approaching so that may also help increase my chance of being selected.

Lastly, I am having a hard time making the key distinction between Intelligence and Information Warfare. To me, Intel is more like an analyst position: gather-analyze-and report. IW seems like there is a lot more to it.

Thank you in advance for any information provided.

jpsno3
Registered Member

Re: SNA to IW/Intel

Postby COMEVIL » Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:46 pm

jpsno3 wrote:I am currently an SNA in Primary flight training. Training has been going well so far, however, I am not sure if it is the right fit for me. I am beginning to research into other possible communities in case I do decide to re-designate. I am most interested in IW and Intelligence. Even as a pilot, I would want my mission to revolve around some type of intelligence gathering.