Working toward FY10 STA-21

Working toward FY10 STA-21

Postby Future Officer » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:03 pm

Hey Everyone! :D

I am new to this, but i have been reading over many of the messages on the site and thought this would be a good place to get info. I am starting my STA-21 for FY10. I have been working on a few of the simple things before the Application opens later this month. I know this forum focuses on IW, but i thought i could still get some solid advice about the Intel option. I have all the lessoned learned from the last two years. I am concerned about what to say in my personal statement and who i "should" be getting letter of recommendation from. Can you wise men and women of the IW world offer me any advice? Thank you

Future Officer
Registered Member

Postby jaydubnavy » Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:43 pm

I was selected for the FY09 STA-21 program under the IW option, and it was my third attempt at applying over a six year period. My first two applications were riddled with letters of recommendation. I had some from Ensigns and Lieutenants, some from Commanders, and even one from an Army E-5 who fought in Vietnam and now makes military movies for PBS.

This year, I decided to whittle it down to only two letters of recommendation. One is from a former CO, who was the second female to command a DDG, and is now at the Naval Academy. She wrote my letter as a Commander, and is now a Captain. The other letter is from a retired 3-star, who used to be the Chief of Naval Personnel. This was the year I finally got selected.

I recommend limiting your letters of recommendation to those in command, or who have been in command. Other than that, maybe find an O-5 or above within the community your applying for (I believe you said Intel). Anything more would probably just be clutter.

jaydubnavy
Registered Member

Postby Sum1 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:02 pm

http://www.usnavyocs.com/portal/index.php