IW Officer information

IW Officer information

Postby davelowp » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:52 pm

Hey guys I have a bachelors in information systems security from AMU and I am really interested in becoming an information warfare officer. I currently have a GPA of 3.1 and will take the ASTB on 26 Sept. I have a few questions:
How competitive is the IW field ?
What is a competitive score for the ASTB?
Do the boards still convene every month?
Having a degree in IT will help me to be a bit more competitive?

I am currently active duty with 7 months left, and I would like to make a pretty competitive pkg not only to get selected but also to stay in the Navy due to PTS and I pretty much get one chance to submit the pkg.

Thank you

David

davelowp
Registered Member

Postby COMEVIL » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:06 am

davelowp wrote:Hey guys I have a bachelors in information systems security from AMU and I am really interested in becoming an information warfare officer. I currently have a GPA of 3.1 and will take the ASTB on 26 Sept. I have a few questions:
How competitive is the IW field ?
What is a competitive score for the ASTB?
Do the boards still convene every month?
Having a degree in IT will help me to be a bit more competitive?

I am currently active duty with 7 months left, and I would like to make a pretty competitive pkg not only to get selected but also to stay in the Navy due to PTS and I pretty much get one chance to submit the pkg.

Thank you

David

David,

Can you provide a few more details, either posted or via PM? What is you current rate/rating? How long have you been in and what sort of tours have you completed? What other fields are you interested in, if any? Etc.

b/r

COMEVIL

COMEVIL
Experienced Member

Postby davelowp » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:20 am